Parade of Home

For the first time in many moons, my house was clean from end-to-end. Amazing but true….and it didn’t come cheap either. sheepish.gif So, since some of you requested pictures of some of the work we’ve done and since some of you don’t plan on visiting anytime soon…..I bring them to you, because that is the type of generous & considerate woman that I am. That and I’m also waiting on a load of laundry to dry before going to bed. whistling.gif

Let’s start @ the front door.

Willkommene Freunde und Familie

foyer.jpg
We haven’t done anything but furnish & decorate this ‘room’. The walls are covered in grasspaper, which is very textured but the previous occupants painted it. I keep moving things around in here…right now it looks unbalanced to me.

If you go through the doorway on the left, you’ll be in the dining room.
dinrm.jpg We have done a lot of work in this room. The first thing we did was sand & refinish the oak flooring. That was a major job! Then we painted the walls, trim & ceiling. There are two windows looking out the front of the house on the right that you can’t see in this picture. We had all the windows replaced. I am in a losing battle to get rid of the chandalier….its just not me. Looking through the doorway, you see the kitchen. It needs a major overhaul and we haven’t even begun.

OK, last pic for this post is the living room. livrm.jpg This room has had a major facelift. Dear sister helped me pick out the wall color & the carpet. She also halped me rip off the 1970s wallpaper….that was fun! We call this the Frosty room b/c it is the color of a Wendy’s Frosty. We bought most of this furniture while we were stationed in Germany. We’ve had the “not-pink” LaZBoy for as long as we’ve been married.

When we’ve got the guest room put back together, I’ll post those pictures.

This entry was posted in Family, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Parade of Home

  1. I like your chandelier. It would go perfect in my Victorian home!!!

  2. gingerporter says:

    Very nice…..I love the bench with your table. Every thing looks beautiful…:)

  3. Elaine says:

    You have a lovely home. Beautifully decorated and yet comfortable. I would love to come visit and share coffee with you. 🙂 Of course I’d bring some wild Alaska salmon along for a treat.

  4. Donna says:

    Sheri, your front foyer is so nice! It’s a nice size, I’m guessing 92″ wide. (Yes, you must go measure and tell me if I guessed close.) Mine is too narrow for furniture, it’s around 60″, so please think of poor little me while rearranging and finding the right layout for your foyer furnishings. 🙂 Your front door is very nice too. 🙂

    I am with you, count me as one vote against the crystal chandelier. It is a lovely fixture, but if it’s not you then it needs to be replaced. What are you waiting for????? Run down to the nearest light fixture store and pick out a Sheri Light!!

    Your living room is inviting. I like the not-pink chair. I guess it is called that for a very good reason. lol

  5. Sheri says:

    😆 Donna, just for you, I have measured the foyer. You missed it by a foot. It is 103 1/2″. I would still consider that pretty close…especially judging from a cock-eyed photograph.

    Ginger, I really liked the bench and it one of the reasons I decided on that particular dining set. For some reason it will not set level in this dining room. A wee bit of teeter-totter effect. 🙂

    Elaine, you make it all the way down to TN and I will fix you the best cuppa this side of the….well, of the….Pacific!

  6. Donna says:

    😆 You are most kind to humor me Sheri dear, thank you!

  7. Sheri says:

    You are most welcome!

  8. tressays says:

    Oh my! I am in love of your foyer. I am coveting your foyer. Your front door is beautiful.

    Thank you for sharing pictures of your house with us. It looks so warm and inviting.

  9. The daughter is requesting a picture of the front of your house. She is looking over my shoulder as I view your pictures again. She said she wants to live in your house.

  10. Sheri says:

    Gasp…..the front of the house….that means you would see all my weeds!

    Guest room is available at the end of next week. 😉

  11. heathertopia says:

    I love the way your house is so open and roomy, but still warm and inviting 🙂 .

  12. Melanie says:

    YOur home is lovely, Sheri! I am also envious of your foyer. Do you know what I thought when I saw your it? “Oh! That would make a fantastic library!” 😆

    Thank you for the tour!

  13. Melanie says:

    Wow. There were a few mistakes in that last post. Looks like a troop of drunken monkeys were playing with my keyboard. 😦

  14. Sheri says:

    I thought about fixing that for a split second (although I’m not sure that is copacetic in the blogosphere), but then I decided the drunken monkeys could stay & dance. 😆

  15. Melanie says:

    Cool. Drunken monkeys are great dancers. 😆

  16. kimhsmom says:

    I love your home…It’s soooo beautiful

  17. Chrystal says:

    So, can you fit all 5 of us in that guest room of yours, Mom? More pictures! More Pictures!

    When did you get a new table? I like this one. It’s nice and simple.

    Oh, and I am envious of your beautiful window treatments. Haha. Must be nice to have privacy. Our neighbors are about a foot away. Tobby calls it a “cozy little neighborhood”.

Comments are closed.