Birds & Cameras

I’ve been thinking since Donna & Michelle have been taking fascinating & inspiring photos through a microscope, then why couldn’t I use my binoculars and take equally fascinating & inspiring photos. My current photo subjects, aside from two beautiful children, are God’s little 5th day creations: birds. Since I doubt they would like being sandwiched between two slides & photographed under a microscope, I thought the binoculars might be a better way to go. Honestly, I don’t own a microscope yet, but I would like this one in case anyone feels so inclined to bless our little homeschool.

My technique is rudimentary, a little clumsy, but effective.

    Find your subject (mine are easily spotted at the feeder).
    Adjust your binoculars.
    Place camera lense into the right or left eyepiece (depending on what-handed you are*) of the binocular.
    Zoom in & click.
    Hope it turns out and be thankful you have a digital camera.

My Equipment is common & geared for casual users.

    Canon PowerShot A75 camera (zoomed in all the way)
    Bausch & Lomb Legacy 8-24×50 binoculars (not zoomed)
    and let’s not forget my favorite: eMac & iPhoto & Photoshop

feeder1.jpg
Taken with camera, fairly regular setting.

feeder2.jpgFirst attempts with camera & binoculars. (House finch on the top and cardinal on the backside of feeder)

goldfinch.jpg
Taken today with camera zoomed in thru binoculars.

So, if you don’t have a big fancy camera and a little time on your hands….use what you got and have some fun making your own fascinating & inspiring photographs. 🙂

Donna Young has written a wonderful how-to on her blog about taking photos through a microscope: Digital Images & Microscopes

*OK, handedness has nothing to do with it…I’m just playin’ with ya.

This entry was posted in Bird Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Birds & Cameras

  1. Donna says:

    Sheri you are a genius!! 🙂 I will have to try this asap!! 😀 Thank you!

    I almost forgot my manners .. your digiocular photos of the birds are lovely. 🙂 I especially like the one with the goldfinches.

  2. Those are great pictures, Sheri. What a wonderful idea you had! I am going to have to use the binoculars & camera this summer to get some great shots out at the beach! Thanks, my friend!

  3. Sheri says:

    Thank you & you’re welcome! 😀

  4. TrustingGOD says:

    WOW. I am impressed! DO you have fanyc binoculars…. my binoculars are less desirable than my digital camera.

  5. Sheri says:

    No, they are not fancy binoculars (Bausch & Lomb Legacy 8-24×50). They have zoom feature, which is why that number looks different than most binocs. I did not use the zoom and you have to be very still when zooming. There is no way I could hold still enough for a photo. Even if I used a tripod or something, it is not the clearest view.
    I should add that into my post.

  6. TrustingGOD says:

    I tried it and it works great. At first I could see the black circle of the binocular lense, but that disappeared when I zoomed in. Fantastic! I love it! I agree with Donna…. you’re a genius!

    I lowered my bird feeder…. We’ve been waiting almost a week and still no birds. Today is windy and I don;t even see any birds…. I can always raise it up again, once the birds discover it.

  7. Sheri says:

    Its fun, isn’t it?! I’m glad it worked well for you….I’d love to see your pictures!

  8. TrustingGOD says:

    There wasn’t any birds… just the feeder…. hopefully the birds will come soon… I was trying it.

  9. Melanie says:

    Awesome, Sheri! I am very glad you did that! I can’t wait to try it myself! Yes, I am going to shamelessly copy you just as I have shamelessly copied Donna over the years. LOL

    The goldfinches are so pretty. 🙂

  10. Sheri says:

    You’ve started a few things yourself, Melanie. (Is that you in your avatar? ‘Tis cute whoever it is!)
    I think it is called sharing fun & quirky ideas with your friends! 🙂 Something like that, anyway.

  11. Melanie says:

    Yep, that’s me! I remember the outfit I am wearing in the picture – it had Kermit the Frog on it. I just loved Kermit. LOL

    And you are very right – sharing fun & quirky ideas with friends sums it up nicely. 🙂

Comments are closed.