Homey Cookbook

I started this project a couple months ago and finally after months of sitting on or near the dining room table, it is finished. Wouldn’t it be nice if all your favorite and most used recipes were in the same place? That is what I thought, too. A notebook collection was the obvious solution to appease my notebook obsession. Due to my limited creativity and patience, it is rather plain, but it is PINK and features a delicious slice of chocolate.gif cake. Now you scrapbooking queens can please stop laughing. lmfao.gif

recip.jpg

Inside you’ll notice that it is somewhat tabbed. Some recipes don’t fit into nice, neat categories, so I hope I’ll be able to find them as this notebook grows. I haven’t written on the tabs, so as to confuse rival recipe hunters. In the front are helpful charts such as freezer storage timelines and meat doneness temperatures.

recip21.jpg
Nothing to oohh and aahh about, but I’m sharing it anyway. Some of you will recognize the recipe format in this photo….most of the recipes come from my friends at the “former best homeschooling forum in the universe”. zee chef

This entry was posted in Recipe Box and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homey Cookbook

  1. Chrystal says:

    My what beautiful pottery you have sitting there!
    This is such a good idea. I never thought about getting a regular binder and some page protectors. Where did you get your template from again?

  2. Donna says:

    Sheri, you just made my day. 🙂 Your cookbook is lovely.

    I see you have a nice cup of tea and some yummy looking pie there too. 🙂

  3. Sheri says:

    Glad I could make your day, Donna. 🙂

    Chrystal, that is classified information that I am not authorized to share. teehee Yes, it is beautiful pottery, isn’t it. It would be nice if you had some too. 😉

  4. appliejuice says:

    Sheri, love the notebook. Mine is sitting on the counter. It looks almost as organized as yours. I will be working on it this summer. 🙂

    Where did you get your colored, extended tabs? All I can find are the clear ones.

    HEY! I just noticed that is one of the recipes I submitted. 😆 I’m so honored. LOL

    Love the pottery. I have been eyeballing that stuff for a long time. I like the serving pieces.

  5. Sheri says:

    Yes, that is one of your recipes! 🙂 All my bread recipes are on top.

    The extended tabs are Avery brand and I’m pretty sure I found them at Walmart or possibly Office Depot. They are slash pockets as well and sometimes hard to find. My 1″ notebook is nearly full already!

    My pottery…..I love my pottery. I will have to blog about it some day.

  6. I have mine all like that as well. I don’t have tabs though…I get my colored tabs from Stuffmart.

  7. Dh made me a notebook very similar to your for my Birthday 2 years ago. It is wonderful! He was tired of my scraps of paper w/ recipes on them laying all over the kitchen.

    I really like your potter! It is lovely!

  8. Sheri says:

    Beth, that was very sweet of your husband!

    I still have a folder full of recipe cards, magazine cut-outs, labels, and scraps of paper that I need to go through and toss or put into the notebook.

  9. Melanie says:

    I’d like to do that someday. It’s hard to remember where recipes are kept, and sometimes I end up making something I didn’t want to make because I couldn’t find a particular recipe. Then there are the recipes I’ve lost completely, and I just do the best I can with what I remember, making stuff up as I go along. It’s usually good, but not like the original. 😦 Maybe I’ll make myself a notebook this summer. It’ll be nice to obsess over something besides homeschool records. 😆

  10. Chrystal says:

    Oh, but I do have some. Is is bad that I want more? Lots more? Nah, that can’t be bad can it?

Comments are closed.