Guess what I spotted today?

This eye-catching little guy and his wife were spotted in our backyard feasting on insects, just before our lunch time. The Indigo Bunting (Passerina cyanea), a member of the Cardinalidae family, is a migratory bird that spends its summers in a good portion of the US & Canada.
What a nice surprise on such a dreary, rainy day!

Yesterday was a great day for birdwatching since there seemed to be an abundance of activity in our backyard and back pasture. The Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias) visited our pond for a short time. He was accompanied by a furry creature, which I believe was some type of fox. We have Red Fox and Gray Fox in Tennessee. Since these creatures tend to be noctural I was a little surprised to see them. It was very early in the morning, so maybe the guy was traipsing home after a wild night out. The heron was not intimated by the fox and the fox didn’t seem to notice the heron.

We watched a Meadowlark (Sturnella magna) for quite awhile as he ventured from fence post to fence post. At first I didn’t know what he was because his back was towards us and I didn’t see his brilliant yellow belly. That however, gave me the opportunity to appreciate his beautiful brown and white stripings on his backside. Our hay field is home to many Meadowlarks and they are year-round residents.

Cool fact according to the Cornell Lab of Orinthology.

The Eastern Meadowlark is not a lark (family Alaudidae) but rather a member of the family Icteridae, along with blackbirds and orioles.

He is also a polygamist.

Aahh, the rain has stopped….time to go. 🙂

This entry was posted in Bird Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guess what I spotted today?

  1. celticmuse says:

    what a beautiful bird. apparently there are some in ohio will have to look for them. We have seen a blue heron at the park we went to on sunday. I posted a pic of the gosling at the new homeschooling blog. You can click on the link at my reg. blog.

    Have a great day.

  2. Sheri says:

    Thanks Michielle, I didn’t realize you had another blog. I’ll check it later today! 🙂

  3. Donna says:

    Those little Indigo Buntings are so pretty! I saw one today for the first time in a long time! Of course I thought of you when I saw it. 🙂 I do not think that I have seen an Eastern Meadowlark.

Comments are closed.