At the Birdfeeder

Walking by my window this morning, what do my eyes see!?!

goldfinch2.jpg

Not a great picture, since my little camera is zoomed in all the way and I dare not get any closer, but there he is in his yellow glory. These are the first American Goldfinches (Carduelis tristis) I have even seen in our yard and there he is with his mate close by. What a perfect way to start this day!

Psalm 37:4
Delight thyself also in the LORD: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

This entry was posted in Bird Journal, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to At the Birdfeeder

  1. Lovely……….Gold finches are my favorite. I read somewhere that they nest in pine trees.

  2. Donna says:

    How cute they are! I’m happy for you that goldfinches are eating at your feeder. 🙂

  3. tressays says:

    I love Goldfinches. They stop by my feeder on occasion.

  4. Melanie says:

    Cool! I’m glad you were able to get a picture. 🙂

    We had a pair of cardinals hanging out on our fence a few days ago. They were trying to decide if our fountain was a good place to play. LOL We watched them until they flew off, and then I kicked myself for not taking pictures of them.

  5. Sheri says:

    I was so excited to see them. In fact, I had already been thinking about what types of shrubs/trees to plant so we could attract some next year.
    I did not see them today, so I feel deprived.

    Melanie, we have a resident pair of cardinals. They are cool birds, it must be the red. I think I found their nest, but it might also be an old nest.

  6. Donna says:

    Sheri I’ve done that – choosing plants based on what sort of creature it either repels or attracts, mostly attracts. 🙂

    Finches love to eat from ripe flower heads. Of course, they love sunflowers and will eat the seeds right off the head, they love zinnias and coneflowers. I’m sure they like others flowers too; those three are the ones that I have grown and seen them eat from. 🙂

  7. Sheri says:

    Thanks for the tip, Donna. I have 2 large planters not yet spoken for and I haven’t planted any zinnia for many years. Might be just the right time.

Comments are closed.