Missions Conference – Day 3

Another day of the conference…..another day of feasting. We had an abundance of food tonite; so much so that we reserved some of it for day 4.

Tonight was BBQ pork night. A lady in our congregation has owned several successful restaurants and she sure knows how to put on a BBQ. The meat was perfect: smokey, tasty, and not dry. In true southern BBQ style, we had the works to go along.

Our speaker Danny Whetstone explained exactly what faith promise is and the difference between giving from our abundance or sacrificial giving. Neither of which is wrong according to Jesus’ story of the widow and the mite but there is a difference. (Mark 12:41-44 & Luke 21:1-4) It wasn’t all about financial support for missionaries.

11 For I long to see you, that I may impart unto you some spiritual gift, to the end ye may be established;
12 That is, that I may be comforted together with you by the mutual faith both of you and me.
13 Now I would not have you ignorant, brethren, that oftentimes I purposed to come unto you, (but was let hitherto,) that I might have some fruit among you also, even as among other Gentiles. Romans 1:11-13

Paul wanted to visit Rome for a long time. He had spiritual gifts to share with the Roman believers and he knew they had spiritual gifts to share with him. It was to be mutually edifying. He also wanted to see their fruit and help them produce more fruit. I do believe the missionaries that I’ve visited with truly want to be with us. Not for the good treatment they receive when they visit our church or for showing the people what their support does in photos & statistics (although that is part of it), but for the sharing of God’s work.

There was much more meat to Danny Whetstone’s sermon, but that is what I’m lead to write this morning.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Missions Conference – Day 3

  1. Elaine says:

    Thank you so much for sharing about your conference. It sounds wonderful.

    We had a Faith Promise weekend a few weekends ago and it too was wonderful to learn just how God can use me to do Hid work just as He uses the missionaries.

  2. Sheri says:

    Thank you, Elaine. I love missions, although I’ve never been to a mission field, so to speak. It is one of my heart’s desires to serve the missionaries when they visit and I want them to feel loved & encouraged while they are with us. I’ve thanked God several times the last few days for allowing me to serve Him this way.

Comments are closed.