Ugly Shoes

I have a thing for ugly shoes. Its probably a good thing, because I have ugly feet…..wide ‘ole stocky German feet. When Tevas first came out (early mid 80s?) a friend told me, “only a self-actualized person would wear shoes like that”. I live in Birkenstocks and love my clunky Dr. Maartens. My recent addition to the ugly shoe closet: Crocs. What a sheer delight to the foot! I look at my feet and see these bright yellow duck feet. I haven’t seen anyone yet that actually looks good in these shoes, but I love these shoes anyway!

I think Jesus wore ugly shoes, too. I can’t imagine him worrying about their looks, but comfort may have come to mind on occasion. Imagine Him looking down and there by his ugly shoes & dirty feet; some poor lost soul….pouring out his heart and asking forgiveness. Feeling worthless & hopeless, how that lost soul must have loved the sight of Jesus’ ugly shoes.

The first time I threw myself at Jesus’ feet, did the Holy One look at me and think ‘ugly shoes’? ‘filthy rags’? He loves me anyway.

Matthew 15:30 And great multitudes came unto him, having with them those that were lame, blind, dumb, maimed, and many others, and cast them down at Jesus’ feet; and he healed them:

Luke 10:39 And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

Romans 16:20 And the God of peace shall bruise Satan under your feet shortly. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. Amen.

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.